Children should always be buckled up or in a proper child restraint. This article will provide you with important information about Kid’s Car seat Safety-Requirements in Florida and security tips for children of all ages.
Florida law requires the utilization of safety belts or child restrain devices by drivers of motor vehicles for all front seat passengers and all kids riding in a vehicle under the age of 18.
Florida’s safety belt law is an essential enforcement law, meaning that an official can stop a vehicle and issue a citation simply for observing a safety belt or restraint violation.
Kids should be in the back seats until they turn at least 12 years of age, since deployed front seat air bags can be dangerous to children.
Child Restraints – Car Seats and Booster Seats
Florida law requires children of 5 years old and under to be secured appropriately in a car crash-tested, federally approved child restraint device.
Florida law on car seat use by age:
Ages 0-3: must be in child restraint devices of a separate carrier or a vehicle manufacturer’s integrated child seat.
Ages 4-5: must be in a separate carrier, integrated child seat or booster seat.
Ages 6-17: kids must be wearing a seatbelt.
The best child seat is one that fits your child, fits your vehicle and that drivers will use correctly every time. Read the vehicle seat’s guidance manual and the portion of your vehicle’s owner manual when you install a car seat.
Remember to check for car seat and booster seat recalls.
Child safety seats, when used properly, reduce the danger of death by 70%. Also, federally-approved restraint devices are not that expensive when you take in consideration the peace of mind you get knowing that your children are safe.