Before you register a vehicle with at least four wheels in Florida, you need to show proof of personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property damage Liability (PDL) automobile insurance.
PIP covers eighty percent of all necessary and reasonable medical expenses up to $10,000 resulting from a covered injury, no matter who caused the crash. Property Damage Liability coverage pays for damage to another person’s property caused by you or some other person driving your insured vehicle.
Proof of PIP/PDL coverage must be issued by an insurance company authorized in Florida to sell policies or by qualifying for a self-insurance certificate issued by FLHSMV.
ANY VEHICLE WITH A CURRENT FLORIDA REGISTRATION MUST:
- Be insured with PIP and PDL insurance at the time of vehicle registration;
- Have a minimum of $10,000 in PIP AND a minimum of $10,000 in PDL. Vehicles registered as taxis must carry bodily injury liability (BIL) coverage of $125,000 per person, $250,000 per occurrence and $50,000 for (PDL) coverage;
- Have continuous coverage even though the vehicle isn’t being driven or is inoperable. Surrender the license plate/tag BEFORE canceling your insurance;
- Purchase the policy from an insurance carrier authorized to do business in Florida. (If you have recently moved from a different State, you’ll ask your agent to transfer your current insurance to a Florida policy);
- Maintain Florida coverage continuously throughout the registration amount no matter the vehicle’s location.
WHY SHOULD I HAVE VEHICLE INSURANCE?
Having automobile insurance is important because it covers your expenses in the event of vehicle damage or injuries to alternative drivers, passengers or pedestrians. All motorists must be insured against their liability to other people, as stipulated in the Road Traffic Act 1988. Insurance can also offer support if your automobile is stolen, vandalized or destroyed by fire.
There is also instances in which you don’t have to be compelled to insure your vehicle, for example, if you have declared your vehicle off the road through a Statutory Off Road Notification (SORN) from the DVLA.
Driving without automobile insurance is against the law. If you don’t have it, you may be punished or disqualified from driving. The maximum fine is unlimited, and you may receive six to eight penalty points on your license. The Government is presently reviewing penalties for uninsured drivers World Health Organization kill or area unit concerned in accidents. The police even have the power to seize and destroy any vehicle being driven without cover.
Driving without insurance
Driving without automobile insurance is against the law. If you don’t have it, you may be punished. Failure to take care of needed amount of money in Florida might end in the suspension of your driver’s license/registration and a requirement to pay a reinstatement fee.
If you ever get involved in a traffic accident and you were either not carrying your Vehicle Insurance card or did not have your vehicle insured at the time of the incident, give us a call to speak with one of our traffic specialists.