Free Consultation: 1-855-411-CITATIONMain Office: 954-442-7600|Hablamos Español

In Florida, driving with a suspended or revoked Driver’s License is a serious criminal offense. Too often, unrepresented Florida drivers plead to suspended License charges without being fully aware of the long-term negative consequences for their driving privileges and criminal record.

The Florida Statutes under the section 322.34 establishes the consequences of driving with an invalid license; a first offense for driving with a suspended license (with knowledge of the suspension, revocation, or cancellation) can result in 60 days of jail and a fine of up to $500.00. A second offense can be charged as a first degree misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of 1 year in Jail. A third offense in Florida may result in felony charges, with up to 5 years in prison and maximum fine of $5,000.

If this third offense and two previous offenses occur within a five-year period, you will be labeled by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (Department of Motor Vehicles) as a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO). A person classified as a Habitual Traffic Offender cannot even obtain a hardship license until a full year has elapsed from their most recent conviction.


There are a number of reasons for the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle to suspend a Florida driver’s license, such as:

-Points suspension;

-Child support delinquency;

-DUI arrest or conviction;

-Habitual Traffic Offender classification;

-Failure to pay fines, court judgments, or court costs;

-Failure to appear in court;

-Failure to maintain continuous insurance;

-Drug-related convictions;

-Plea to a racing on highways charge;

-Petit theft convictions;

-DUI Refusal.


If your license has been suspended, you may be eligible for a provisionary license known as a “Conditional License” or a “Hardship License”. This is a license that allows the person to drive under very limited conditions, usually with the purpose of commuting to work or performing basic household duties.

In order to obtain a conditional license, you would need to file a petition with the Florida court requesting for such a license. This may include other requirements such as completing additional driver training courses or mandatory DUI treatment programs.

Alternatively, you may inquire about having your license reinstated. Some judges will modify or cancel a suspension order if it can be proven that the persona is rehabilitated and will only be using their vehicle for business or employment purposes.






Via: Legal Match

Source: Driving with a suspended license